The Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability in the College of Natural Resources and Environment at Virginia Tech has formed a 14-member external advisory group comprised of business, nonprofit, and public sector executives it calls the 2050 Council.

“Since 2050 is the reference point for many of the discussions about environmental sustainability that are occurring worldwide, we thought it a very appropriate designation for this group,” said Michael Mortimer, director of the center.

The goal of the Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability, which is headquartered at the Virginia Tech Research Center — Arlington, is to educate, inspire, and empower professionals to create a better future for people and the planet as they meet global growth and development  challenges that include water, food, energy, and climate.

Council members will serve as advisers to Mortimer, senior fellows, and faculty, offering input on special programs and topics, stakeholder engagement, leadership training, networking, and educational product development. 

“In organizing this council, we have chosen exceptional individuals whose expertise and real world insights are invaluable during this time of growth for the center and for Virginia Tech in the National Capital Region. Most importantly they are passionate about the center’s mission,” said Mortimer.

The 2050 Council members are:

  • Chuck Bean, executive director, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments;
  • Judy Braus, executive director, North American Association for Environmental Education;
  • Lee Congdon, chief information officer, Red Hat;
  • Tom Corbitt, chief officer, Human Resources, SNL Financial;
  • Kendall Dorman, principal, Wiebenson & Dorman Architects, PC;
  • Stephen Evanko, director, Office of Environmental Sustainability, Capital One Financial Corporation;
  • Molly Fannon, director, Office of International Relations, The Smithsonian Institution;
  • Mickey Fearn, professor of the practice, School of Natural Resources, North Carolina State University;
  • Matthew Gurin, vice president, Hay Group;
  • Shaun Martin, senior director, Climate Change Adaptation and Conservation Leadership, World Wildlife Fund;
  • Melissa Peacor, county executive, Prince William County, Virginia;
  • Pat Pineda, group vice president, Hispanic Business Strategy, Toyota Motors North America, Inc.;
  • Michael Rohd, founding artistic director, Sojourn Theatre, and director, Center for Performance and Civic Practice;
  • Bill Sisson, director, Sustainability, United Technologies Research Center.

Each council member will serve a two-year term, and will convene in-person at least once per year. “The Council will come out of the gate contributing to our leadership and communications themes, design of an innovation lab, and our international programming,” said Mortimer.



Share this story