The following individuals delivered the National Capital Region Commencement address at Virginia Tech (dating back to 1981):

2013: Austin Yamada, vice president for intelligence research at the Virginia Tech Applied Research Corporation

2012: Laura Fornash, Secretary of Education for the Commonwealth of Virginia

2011: Wayne Clough, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution and former professor and dean of the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech

2010: Steve Gladis, president and CEO of Steve Gladis Communications

2009: Shelley Duke, Marion duPont Scott Equine Medical Center Council chairperson, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors Research Committee chairperson

2008: Pierre Thomas, ABC News senior justice department correspondent

2007: Jim Moran, U.S. Congressman

2006: Donald M. Norris, president, strategic initiatives

2005: Claire M. Fraser, president and director, Institute for Genomic Research

2004: Lawrence J. Korb, senior fellow, Center for American Progress

2003: Belle S. Whelan, secretary of state for education, Commonwealth of Virginia

2002: Mark McNamee, provost, vice president for academic affairs, Virginia Tech

2001: Charles W. Steger, president, Virginia Tech

2000: Vinton G. Cerf, senior vice president for internet architecture and technology, MCI WorldCom

1999: Daniel A. Domenech, superintendent, Fairfax County Schools

1998: George C. Newstrom, corporate vice president EDS

1997: Peggy Fox, anchor and reporter, WUSA9

1996: Donald S. Beyer Jr., lt. governor, Commonwealth of Virginia

1995: Thomas M. Davis, U.S. Congress

1994: Leonard K. Peters, vice provost for research and dean of Virginia Tech Graduate School

1993: John Eaton, interim dean of Virginia Tech Graduate School

1992: Charles W. Steger, interim vice president public service dean of architecture, Virginia Tech

1991: Gary R. Hooper, vice provost for research and dean of Virginia Tech Graduate School

1990: E. Fred Carlisle Sr., vice president and provost, Virginia Tech

1989: James D. McComas, president, Virginia Tech

1988: John M. Perry, executive vice president, Virginia Tech

1987: Dr. William E. Lavery, president, Virginia Tech

1986: G. Truman Ward, partner and principal, Ward Hall and Associates

1985: Robert H, Pry, president, Center for Innovative Technology, Virginia Tech

1984: Roger A. Teekell, dean of Virginia Tech Graduate School

1983: David P. Roselle, dean of research and graduate studies, Virginia Tech

1982: William E. Lavery, president, Virginia Tech

1981: John D. Wilson, provost, Virginia Tech



Share this story