The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors approved the following promotions, tenure, and continued appointments at its June 1 meeting.

Promotion to professor with tenure, collegiate faculty:

  • Vladimir Shulaev, horticulture

Promotion to associate professor with tenure, collegiate faculty:

  • Erin Dolan, biochemistry;
  • Scott Bailey, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Steven Ellingson, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Dennis Hong, mechanical engineering;
  • Kathleen Meehan, electrical and computer engineering;
  • T. M. Murali, computer science;
  • Alexey Onufriev, computer science;
  • Jung-Min Park, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Mark Paul, mechanical engineering;
  • Sheila Carter-Tod, English;
  • Jim Kuypers, communication;
  • Walter Ott, philosophy;
  • Steven Salaita, English;
  • Lisa Kennedy, geography;
  • Giti Khodaparast, physics;
  • Maria Lazar, biological sciences;
  • Ignacio Moore, biological sciences;
  • Diego Troya, chemistry;
  • Harold McKenzie III, large animal clinical sciences; and
  • John Rossmeisl, small animal clinical services.

Tenure at the currently held rank of associate professor, collegiate faculty:

  • Eva Schmelz, human nutrition, foods, and exercise;
  • Dimitrios Nikolopoulos, computer science;
  • Cameron Patterson, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Michael Roan, mechanical engineering;
  • Steve Southward, mechanical engineering;
  • William Hopkins, fisheries and wildlife sciences; and
  • Christopher Lawrence, biological sciences.

Promotion to professor, collegiate faculty:

  • Kevin Davy, human nutrition foods and exercise;
  • Ruth Lytton, agricultural and applied economics;
  • Wilma Dunaway, School of Public and International Affairs;
  • Anne Khademian, Center for Public Administration and Policy;
  • Robert Lang, Metropolitan Institute at Virginia Tech;
  • Walid Thabet, building construction;
  • Mitzi Vernon, industrial design;
  • James Arthur, computer science;
  • Scott Case, engineering science and mechanics;
  • Eva Marand, chemical engineering;
  • Sanjay Raman, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Janis Terpenny, engineering education/mechanical engineering;
  • James Hawdon, sociology;
  • Joan Hirt, School of Education;
  • Patricia Raun, theatre arts;
  • Thomas Fox, forestry;
  • Daniel Crawford, chemistry;
  • Felicia Etzkorn, chemistry;
  • Liwu Li, biological sciences;
  • H. Maurice Valett, biological sciences; and
  • William Swecker, large animal clinical sciences.

Promotion to advanced instructor, collegiate faculty:

  • Samuel Doak, agricultural technology;
  • Pavli Mykerezi, agricultural technology;
  • Kathleen Fallon, English;
  • Dale Jenkins, communication;
  • Julie Mengert, English;
  • Matthew Vollmer, English;
  • Jeannine Eddleton, chemistry; and
  • Michael Rosenzweig, biological sciences.

Promotion to senior instructor, collegiate faculty:

  • Janet Niewald, School of Visual Arts;
  • Noah Barnette, computer science;
  • William McQuain, computer science;
  • Michael Bliss, English;
  • Michael Dunston, music;
  • Nancy McDuffie, music;
  • Leslie Neilan, English;
  • Herbert Patton, English;
  • Linda Skinner, English;
  • Jane Wemhoener, English; and
  • Charles Hodges, mathematics.

Promotion to assistant professor, extra-collegiate faculty:

  • Kyrille Goldbeck, University Libraries

Promotion to senior Extension agent, extra-collegiate faculty:

  • David Moore, Middlesex Virginia Cooperative Extension Service; and
  • Glenda Snyder, Botetourt Virginia Cooperative Extension Service.

Promotion to Extension agent, extra-collegiate faculty:

  • Michael Andruczyk, Chesapeake Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Linda Cole, Chesterfield Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Lindsay Dawley, Virginia Beach Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Cynthia Estienne, Greenville Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Brian Hairston, Henry Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Shewana Hairston, Franklin County Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Sharon Mallory, Petersburg Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Wythe Morris, Carroll Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Charles Rosson, Louisa Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • William Shockley, North Hampton Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Crystal Smith, Warren Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Jamie Stowe, Pittsylvania Virginia Cooperative Extension;
  • Carrie Swanson, Albemarle Virginia Cooperative Extension; and
  • Matthew Yancey, Rockingham Virginia Cooperative Extension.
The Office of the Provost provided the information for this story. Content-related questions should be directed to Cyndi Hutchison at (540) 231-2350.
Share this story