Eight members of the Virginia Tech community will be honored as the recipients of the 2006 Advancing Women Award.

Recipients will be honored Thursday, Sept. 21 at the Welcome Reception for New Women Faculty and Graduate Students sponsored by the Women’s Center, Women’s Studies Program, the Graduate School, AdvanceVT, and the Organization of Women Faculty.

Presented annually since 1995, the Advancing Women Award recognizes individuals who make a difference in support of women at Virginia Tech. The award may be given to students, faculty, and staff members whose work promotes the advancement of women and/or addresses the needs and concerns of women. Recipients are chosen by a committee comprised of past award recipients and other members of the campus community.

The recipients of the 2006 Advancing Women Awards are:

==> Carola Haas of Riner, Va., associate professor of fisheries and wildlife sciences in the College of Natural Resources, was recognized for her work with the Organization of Women Faculty;

==> Lt. Tasha Messenger, a 2004 graduate of Virginia Tech and former staff member in the Corps of Cadets was recognized for her liaison efforts between the corps and the campus community;

==> Angela Mendes, research associate for gender equity in the Office of International Research, Education and Development, was recognized for her activism around global women’s issues;

==> Heather Switzer of Blacksburg, a doctoral student in Environmental Design and Planning program in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies, was recognized for her commitment to women through her teaching, civic work, and academic research;

==> Mark McNamee of Blacksburg, provost and vice president of academic affairs, was recognized for his efforts to educate the university community about issues of gender equity through faculty initiatives, recruitment efforts, and commitment to work-life balance issues;

==> Amy Nelson, associate professor; Daniel Thorp, associate professor and department chair; and Kathleen Jones, associate professor, all in the Department of History in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, were recognized for their efforts to improve departmental climate for women.

The 2007 Advancing Women Awards call for nominations will be available in February 2007. Information is available at the Women’s Center’s website, or contact Jessie Meltsner.


Share this story