This year, 834 employees are being recognized for their dedication to Virginia Tech and commitment to upholding the university’s mission.

These employees have collectively devoted 15,510 years of service to the university and exemplify its motto Ut Prosim (That I May Serve).

The service recognition program acknowledges employees' service to the university in five-year increments, beginning at 10 years of service. This year’s recipients will be honored at receptions and a dinner this spring.

Of the employees being recognized, the following 11 have served Virginia Tech for 45 years or more:

60 years

  • Jane E. Johnston, Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering 

50 years

  • Walter F. O’Brien, Department of Mechanical Engineering

45 years

  • Richard C. Cole, School of Performing Arts 
  • Elizabeth L. Coleman, Augusta County Virginia Cooperative Extension
  • Ann K. Craig, Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science
  • Betty F. Higginbotham, Department of Statistics
  • David G. Kingston, Department of Chemistry
  • Victoria T. Kok, University Libraries
  • Steven E. Lowe, Department of Biochemistry  
  • Joseph C. Pitt, Department of Philosophy
  • Sandra W. Smith, Office of the President

A complete list of employees being recognized this year is available online.

Learn more about the university's service recognition program