Virginia Tech's Innovation Campus Vice President and Executive Director Lance Collins has joined the Society for Science board of trustees.

The Society for Science is dedicated to the achievement of young scientists in independent research and to public engagement in science. The society's vision is to promote the understanding and appreciation of science and the vital role it plays in human advancement.

Collins' appointment to the board was announced Nov. 18 along with Charles McCabe, chief advisor for the Manifold Fund.

“I am pleased to welcome Lance and Charles to our board of trustees,” said Maya Ajmera, president and CEO of the Society for Science and publisher of Science News, in their announcement. “Their diverse expertise and insight they bring to our organization, coupled with their deep commitment to the society’s mission, will make them invaluable additions to our board of trustees.”

On joining the board of trustees, Collins said, “I plan to dedicate my time to increasing access to the society for girls and underrepresented minority students, who historically have not participated in STEM at the levels they could if given the opportunity.”

The board includes two Nobel Prize winners, and professors from Columbia, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, and the California Institute of Technology.

The Innovation Campus, which will open its first academic building in Alexandria, Virginia, in 2024, has set the goal to be the most diverse graduate tech program in the country. Read more about the campus commitment to diversity and inclusion in its strategic plan.

Share this story