Happy first week of classes, fellow Hokies!

We are so thrilled to have everyone back on campus and in Blacksburg for a new and exciting semester! There are so many great ways to spend your time at Virginia Tech, and getting involved during the fall semester is a wonderful way to contribute to a great college experience. We want to start off the year by introducing ourselves and sharing important information about a major opportunity for students to make history at Virginia Tech.

We are the Undergraduate Student Senate (USS) Transition Team, a group of 12 students who have been tasked with creating and establishing the Undergraduate Student Senate, a new model for student government at Virginia Tech.

USS is a student organization with many different ways to get involved, and all of them are open to students this fall. When you become a USS representative, you are becoming a part of a larger network of representatives, serving your fellow students, and truly embracing the spirit of Ut Prosim (That I May Serve). There are three different position types to choose from in the USS:

  1. Senators (elected)
  2. Directors (appointed)
  3. Cabinet (elected)


If you want more information about each of the positions and their responsibilities, it can be found on the USS website (ussatvt.com) along with many other helpful resources to give students background about the USS.

Here are the three things you should do to get involved with USS:

  1. Come see us at Gobblerfest on Saturday, Sept. 4, from 2 to 5 p.m.
  2. Follow our Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook (@USSatVT).
  3. USS elections will be held this October, and all elected positions within the organization will be open for election.


If you would like more information about the entire transition process, check out the USS Transition website or email us (uss@vt.edu). Don’t hesitate to reach out to any of us or say hi when you see us on campus this fall. We look forward to working with you and making history at Virginia Tech!

Sincerely and respectfully,

- USS Transition Team

Miles Guth, Sara Wynkoop, Sherlock Banks, Adyan Atiq, Mallory Fields, Jimmy Heagerty, Sydney Livingston, Rose Moss, Joe Lichtenstein, Ally Jett, Dani Chowen, and Jimmy Lowe

Related links:

Student Government Association to transition to Undergraduate Student Senate

Undergraduate Student Senate transition team named

Share this story