Ann Stevens, a professor in the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Science, has received the university’s 2018 Wine Award for Teaching Excellence.

The William E. Wine Award was established in 1957 by the Virginia Tech Alumni Association in memory of William E. Wine, Class of 1904, who was a former rector of the Board of Visitors and Alumni Association president. Following a college-level selection process of candidates nominated by students, faculty, and alumni, each college may put forth one nominee. From this group, three faculty members are selected annually. Each Wine Award winner receives $2,000 and automatic induction into the Academy of Teaching Excellence.

Since joining the Virginia Tech faculty in 1997, Stevens has contributed to essentially all facets of education. She has taught undergraduate and graduate students in the classroom, mentored undergraduate and graduate research, developed courses and curriculums, conducted educational research, and defined national standards for teaching in her discipline of microbiology.

“Dr. Stevens’ teaching abilities go far beyond traditional settings within the classroom. I had the privilege of serving as her teaching assistant for a general microbiology class. In this position I was able to learn how Dr. Stevens coordinates, manages, and prepares for the classes she teaches. I consider this experience to be one of the most valuable in my career,” wrote Michael Betteken, a postdoctoral associate at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Cornell University.

Her efforts to revise the undergraduate curriculum for microbiology have led to the development of two new courses, which she taught herself. She has served as a major advisor or co-advisor to 13 M.S. and 10 Ph.D. students, and one postdoctoral associate. Additionally, she has been a member of 38 Ph.D. and 20 M.S. committees at Virginia Tech, including 10 departments in four colleges.

In 2017, she was awarded the Virginia Tech Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award and the College of Science Outstanding Graduate Student Mentoring Award.

Written by Lindsey Grooms, Class of 2019

Share this story