Glenn Bugh, associate professor in the Department of History in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, has received the university’s 2017 William E. Wine Award.

The William E. Wine Award was established in 1957 by the Virginia Tech Alumni Association in memory of William E. Wine, Class of 1904, who was a former rector of the Board of Visitors and Alumni Association president. Following a college-level selection process of candidates nominated by students, faculty, and alumni, each college may put forth one nominee. From this group, three faculty members are selected annually. Each Wine Award winner receives $2,000 and automatic induction into the Academy of Teaching Excellence.

Bugh played an integral role in the development of Virginia Tech’s Center for European Studies and Architecture, now called the Steger Center for International Scholarship in Riva San Vitale, Switzerland. Bugh has been involved in teaching at the center since its establishment. He also creates, organizes, and runs programs in a range of other international settings.

As a part of Bugh’s teaching philosophy, he encourages his students to “back away from the computer screen, go check out the site for yourself, and don’t come back the same person.” Using this philosophy, he has had a strong hand in creating the new American Research Center in Sofia, Bulgaria.

“He is tirelessly committed to working with students, leading them to explore the discipline of history, and encouraging them to push boundaries and consider new approaches and perspectives,” wrote Maria A. Lisont, associate professor and chair of the anthropology department at the University of Waterloo, in a nomination letter. “He is unfailingly generous with his time, always willing to talk to students about their current undergraduate assignment, their graduate research, or their plans for the future.”

In 2013, Bugh was awarded the University Alumni Award for Excellence in International Education and, in 2015, he won the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences’ Global Partnership Sustainability Award.

Share this story