Chris Eyestone has been elected to serve a second term as chief of the Virginia Tech Rescue Squad. Eyestone, a senior agribusiness and international studies major from Blacksburg, Virginia, is one of nine undergraduate students who will serve as officers for the 2016-17 academic year.

Officers serve one-year terms and are elected by the rescue squad’s all-student membership. 

In addition to Eyestone, the 2016-17 officers are:

  • David Camarillo, administrative captain, a senior from Yorktown, Virginia, neuroscience;
  • Aram Hudson, communications lieutenant, a junior from Great Falls, Virginia, biological systems engineering;
  • Alexandra Leaverton, personnel lieutenant, a senior from Duxbury, Massachusetts, human nutrition, foods and exercise;
  • Colleen McDonald, equipment lieutenant, a junior from Fairfax, Virginia, biological systems engineering;
  • Anroux Mey, special operations lieutenant, a junior from Pretoria, South Africa, neuroscience, member Corps of Cadets;
  • Kyle Mewshaw, training lieutenant, a senior from Annapolis, Maryland, human nutrition, foods and exercise;
  • Tyler Mosier, vehicles lieutenant, a senior from Columbia, Maryland, mechanical engineering; and
  • Jack Shepard, operations captain, a junior from Manassas, Virginia, mechanical engineering,

In May, the Rescue Squad passed its bi-annual EMS agency inspection conducted by the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services and the Virginia Department of Health.  

The Virginia Tech Rescue Squad has served the university community since 1969 and is the oldest collegiate rescue squad in Virginia and the second oldest in the nation. The squad has 40 student members who perform the same functions of a municipal rescue squad and handle about 1,200 calls per year.

Photo gallery: Virginia Tech Rescue Squad officers

Share this story