Anthony Wilson, chief of the Town of Blacksburg Police Department, and Kevin Foust, chief of the Virginia Tech Police Department, will receive the Alfred C. Payne Service Award for their effort in establishing the No Hokie Left Behind campaign.

The two will receive the award from the Alpha Omicron Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa during a ceremony at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 28, in the War Memorial Chapel at Virginia Tech.

The annual award recognizes an individual or individuals who have performed exceptional service to the greater Blacksburg community. It is named for the Rev. Alfred C. Payne, the former Virginia Tech counselor of religious affairs, assistant dean of students, secretary of the YMCA, and former faculty secretary of the Omicron Circle who died in 2003. Payne Hall was also named in his honor.

No Hokie Left Behind is a collaborative safety effort that encourages students to watch out for each other in town and on campus. The message is simple: "Go with Friends, Stay with Friends, and Leave with Friends."

Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society for college students, recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. The Virginia Tech Alpha Omicron Circle was founded in 1933.

Dedicated to its motto, Ut Prosim (That I May Serve), Virginia Tech takes a hands-on, engaging approach to education, preparing scholars to be leaders in their fields and communities. As the commonwealth’s most comprehensive university and its leading research institution, Virginia Tech offers 240 undergraduate and graduate degree programs to more than 31,000 students and manages a research portfolio of $513 million. The university fulfills its land-grant mission of transforming knowledge to practice through technological leadership and by fueling economic growth and job creation locally, regionally, and across Virginia.

Share this story