Virginia Tech has announced the search committee for a vice president for advancement.

Vice President for Development and University Relations Elizabeth “Betsy” Flanagan announced in January she will step down June 30 after 15 years as vice president.  She will become senior fellow for advancement on July 1.

Following Flanagan’s announcement, President Timothy D. Sands established a new Advancement Division which will combine University Development, University Relations, and Alumni Relations into a more traditional university advancement model. 

The national search for Flanagan’s successor will be chaired by Virginia Tech Foundation Chief Executive Officer John Dooley. Members of the search committee are:

  • Whit Babcock, director of athletics;
  • Rosemary Blieszner, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Human Development and associate dean of the Graduate School;
  • Andrea Brunais, communications director, Outreach and International Affairs;
  • Jack Davis, Reynolds Metals Professor and dean, College of Architecture and Urban Studies;
  • Sandra Davis, member, Virginia Tech Foundation Board of Directors
  • Deborah Day, associate vice president for alumni relations;
  • Michael Friedlander, professor of biological sciences and executive director, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute;
  • Alan Grant, professor and dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences;
  • Deborah Hamilton, associate director of development for corporate and foundation relations, College of Engineering;
  • Arthur Keown, R.B. Pamplin Professor of Finance, Pamplin College of Business;
  • Christopher Kiwus, associate vice president for facilities and chief facilities officer;
  • Austin Larrowe, University Honors student majoring in applied economic management and agricultural sciences and undergraduate student representative to the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors;
  • Dwight Shelton, vice president for finance and chief financial officer and executive vice president of the Virginia Tech Foundation;
  • Frank Shushok, associate vice president, Student Affairs;
  • Benjamin Stallings, development committee chair and member, Virginia Tech Foundation Board of Directors; and
  • Matthew Winston, president, Virginia Tech Alumni Association Board of Directors.

The search committee welcomes nominations for the position. Virginia Tech has engaged Isaacson, Miller to assist with this search. For confidential inquiries, or to nominate an individual for this position, email Jack Gorman, vice president at Isaacson, Miller, or call 617-262-6500. 

Nominations may also be emailed to John Dooley or sent campus mail to the University Gateway Center, 902 Prices Fork Road, Suite 4000 (0142).

The position description and application process will be announced later this month and will be available on the Isaacson, Miller website.

Dedicated to its motto, Ut Prosim (That I May Serve), Virginia Tech takes a hands-on, engaging approach to education, preparing scholars to be leaders in their fields and communities. As the commonwealth’s most comprehensive university and its leading research institution, Virginia Tech offers 240 undergraduate and graduate degree programs to more than 31,000 students and manages a research portfolio of $513 million. The university fulfills its land-grant mission of transforming knowledge to practice through technological leadership and by fueling economic growth and job creation locally, regionally, and across Virginia.

Share this story