The Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine at Virginia Tech recognized the accomplishments of its Veterinary Teaching Hospital faculty and staff during an awards ceremony on June 18.

The college gave certificates and medallions to award winners, including

  • Dr. Hollie Schramm, clinical assistant professor of production management medicine in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences, and Dr. Tom Cecere, assistant professor of anatomic pathology in the Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology, received the 2014 Director’s Faculty Service Award.
  • Dr. Sarah Holland, production management medicine resident, and Dr. Julia Coutin, surgery resident in the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, received the 2014 Director’s House Officer Service Award.
  • Samantha Suroski, hospital admissions supervisor, and Sharon Dunn, office services specialist, received the 2014 Director’s Staff Service Award.
  • The hospital’s oncology service received the 2014 Director’s Award for Exemplary Service as a Unit. Award winners include Dr. Shawna Klahn, assistant professor of oncology; Dr. Nick Dervisis, assistant professor of oncology; Dr. Paulo Vilar Saavedra, oncology resident; Dr. Erin Fagan, oncology resident; Stefanie Olsen, licensed veterinary technician; and Lauren Scaletta, licensed veterinary technician.

Several faculty and staff members also earned Lifetime Service Awards for their long-term service to the teaching hospital. These included Dr. Phil Sponenberg, professor of pathology and genetics; Dr. Greg Troy, the Dr. and Mrs. Dorsey Taylor Mahin Endowed Professor of Internal Medicine; Dr. Dee Whittier, professor of production management medicine; Becky Wade, large animal hospital staff supervisor; Judy Hutchison, communications supervisor; and Lynn Brammer, small animal internal medicine technician.

During the awards ceremony, the college also presented certificates of appreciation to several staff members. These included Kara Clark, office services specialist; Sharon Dunn, office services specialist; Karolee Furrow, senior storekeeper; Raven Gray, fiscal technician; Ginger Hudecek, licensed veterinary technician; Jill Kormendy, executive assistant; Stephanie Riggins, ophthalmology technician; Terry Tawney, communications assistant; and Teresa Williams, fiscal technician.

The Veterinary Teaching Hospital staff selected Tawney from the above list of nominees to receive the Director’s Staff Award. She has 12 years of service to the college and was described as a “great trouble-shooter” and a “valuable asset” to the college.

The college recognized Dr. Kathyrn Williams, Dr. Mark Bisoski, Dr. Tyson Brummer, Dr. Benoit Clerc-Renaud, Dr. Julia Disney, Dr. Erin Fagan, Dr. Heather Honious, and Dr. Laura Rawlings with certificates of internship. Disney and Fagan are remaining with the college as residents following their one-year internship. Likewise, the college recognized Dr. Julia Coutin, Dr. Ann Bettencourt, Dr. Noah Pavlisko, Dr. Paulo Vilar-Saavedra, Dr. Sonya Wesselowski, Dr. Caitlin O’Shea, Dr. Bethany Gibson, and Dr. Bryn Hoffman with certificates of residency.

The college’s Veterinary Teaching Hospital, located on the Virginia Tech campus in Blacksburg, includes two hospitals — the Small Animal Hospital and the Harry T. Peters Large Animal Hospital. The hospital sees clients who are within a 35-mile radius of Blacksburg or referred by a veterinary practitioner.

View a Facebook photo gallery from the Veterinary Teaching Hospital awards ceremony.

Written by Michael Sutphin.

Share this story