Virginia Tech President Charles W. Steger was honored by the Virginia General Assembly yesterday as Del. Joseph R. Yost read House Joint Resolution 171, commending Steger “for over three decades of service and devotion to Virginia Tech."

The resolution’s patrons included delegates Yost, Richard L. Anderson, David L. Bulova, James E. Edmunds II, Gregory D. Habeeb, William J. Howell, Johnny S. Joannou, R. Steven Landes, Robert D. Orrock Sr., Nick Rush, Thomas, Davis Rush, and Edward T. Scott.

House Speaker Howell added his thanks for all Steger has done for the university and the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Last May, Steger announced plans to step down as president of Virginia Tech after 14 years in that position. He has also served as dean of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and vice president for development and university relations during his 40 year career.

Steger will continue to serve as president until Timothy D. Sands becomes Virginia Tech’s 16th president June 1, 2014.

Dedicated to its motto, Ut Prosim (That I May Serve), Virginia Tech takes a hands-on, engaging approach to education, preparing scholars to be leaders in their fields and communities. As the commonwealth’s most comprehensive university and its leading research institution, Virginia Tech offers 240 undergraduate and graduate degree programs to more than 31,000 students and manages a research portfolio of $513 million. The university fulfills its land-grant mission of transforming knowledge to practice through technological leadership and by fueling economic growth and job creation locally, regionally, and across Virginia.

Share this story