Virginia Tech has announced the search committee for a new vice president for vice president for student affairs.

Earlier this fall, Edward F.D. Spencer announced his retirement effective June 2012 after almost 30 years of service at the university. He arrived at Virginia Tech in 1983, when he was named director of housing and residence life. Following that, he continued his work in student affairs as director of residential and dining programs, assistant vice president for student affairs, associate vice president for student affairs, and finally vice president for student affairs.

The vice president of student affairs provides leadership and oversight to 15 departments in the Division of Student Affairs, which encompasses the Dean of Students, Career Services, Cook Counseling Center, Alcohol Abuse Prevention Center, Corps of Cadets, Cranwell International Center, Fraternity and Sorority Life, Student Conduct, Dining Services, Recreational Sports, Housing and Residence Life, Schiffert Health Center, Multicultural Programs and Services, Services for Students with Disabilities, and Student Centers and Activities.

Senior Vice President and Provost Mark McNamee will chair the search committee. Members of the search committee are

  • Kevin Ayoub, coordinator of event planning, Student Centers and Activities;
  • Corbin Dimeglio, undergraduate student, Department of Management, Pamplin College of Business and president, Student Government Association;
  • Christopher Flynn, director, Cook Counseling Center;
  • Maj. Gen. Randal D. Fullhart, commandant, Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets;
  • Joan Hirt, professor of educational leadership and policy studies, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences;
  • Rachel Holloway, associate dean for academic programs, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences;
  • Hal Irvin, associate vice president for human resources;
  • Sue Ott Rowlands, dean, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences;
  • Donna Ratcliffe, interim director, Dining Services;
  • Amanda Rumore, graduate student, Department of Biological Sciences, College of Science;
  • Karen Eley Sanders, associate vice president for academic support services;
  • Robert Stephens, associate professor of history, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, and principal, Honors Residential College;
  • Daniel Wubah, vice president and dean for undergraduate education; and 
  • Gordon Yee, associate professor of chemistry, College of Science.

The search committee welcomes nominations for the position. Virginia Tech has engaged the Spelman & Johnson Group (SJG) to assist with this search.  For confidential inquiries, or to nominate an individual for this position, please email Peter Rosenberg, senior associate at SJG, or call 413-529-2895.  You may also send email nominations to Mark McNamee, or via campus mail, 210 Burruss Hall (0132).

For additional information about the position, please visit the Office of the Provost website. To apply for the position, visit the Human Resources jobs site (posting number 0111296). 

For full consideration, applications must be completed by Feb. 10, 2012.

Share this story