A new president and president-elect of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine’s Alumni Society were formally installed during a recent meeting of the board held in conjunction with the “Virginia Veterinary Conference” at the Hotel Roanoke in Roanoke, Va.

Dr. Doug Graham, (Class of 1998), was formally installed as president of the VMRCVM Alumni Society and Dr. Sara Salmon (Class of 1998) was installed as president-elect of the VMRCVM Alumni Society.

Graham, a Gaithersburg, Md., veterinarian, worked in private practice with the West Frederick Veterinary Hospital before joining the Emergency Animal Center in Hyattstown, Md. Salmon, a Charlottesville, Va. veterinarian, practices with Veterinary Emergency Treatment Service, Inc. Both veterinarians traveled to New Orleans to volunteer as first responders following the Hurricane Katrina catastrophe.

The college’s Alumni Society includes about 1,800 veterinarians. Many of the college’s graduates provide clinical care in veterinary practices located in communities throughout Virginia and Maryland. Others work in corporations and government agencies like the Food & Drug Administration’s Center for Veterinary Medicine.

The Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM) is a two-state, three-campus professional school operated by the land-grant universities of Virginia Tech in Blacksburg and the University of Maryland at College Park. Its flagship facilities, based at Virginia Tech, include the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, which treats more than 40,000 animals annually. Other campuses include the Marion duPont Scott Equine Medical Center in Leesburg, Va., and the Avrum Gudelsky Veterinary Center at College Park, home of the Center for Government and Corporate Veterinary Medicine. The VMRCVM annually enrolls approximately 500 Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and graduate students, is a leading biomedical and clinical research center, and provides professional continuing education services for veterinarians practicing throughout the two states.

Share this story